Wait, Blake Snell isn’t an All-Star?

 

Earlier the American League and National League All-Star teams were announced and just like every year, there are complaints about people who made the roster and players who did not. Normally, the complaints come from the starting 9 because the fans vote for the starters. The year were the Kansas City Royals basically fielded an entire starting 9 still gets me fired up. But I am not here to argue about that. I am not even here to argue if Bryce Harper should be starting for the National League. I am here to argue about how the managers and players did not vote in one of the best starters of 2018, Blake Snell.

Now I am not here to argue that this pitcher does not belong in the All-Star game because all the pitchers are worthy of being on the roster. But in place of Blake Snell, you can argue that no one should be in front of him. Here the pitchers on the American League roster:

Justin Verlander

Corey Kluber

Chris Sale

Luis Severino

Gerrit Cole

Jose Berrios

J.A. Happ

Trevor Bauer

Edwin Diaz

Joe Ramirez

Craig Kimbrel

Aroldis Chapman

Blake Treinen

 

I also do not want to argue against the idea that every team should be represented because I see both sides of the argument. As a fan of the Detroit Tigers, I would want someone from my team to potentially watch during the game. But Blake Snell cannot, I repeat, CANNOT be left off this roster. Let’s look at Snell’s incredible first half numbers.

ERA: 2.09 (1st in A.L.)

WHIP: 1.03 (8th in A.L.)

K/9: 10.24 (10th in A.L.)

WAR: 4.3 (4th in A.L.)

Hell, for the older generations, he is second in wins with 12 despite wins not showing any true value about a pitcher. So, the question must be asked, how does Blake Snell be missed by the entire league. Sure, he plays for the Tampa Bay Rays so he doesn’t get as much publicity and national attention as Corey Kluber or Chris Sale. But he pitchers in arguably the hardest division to pitch in in the American League East and has put up those numbers. I am die-hard Red Sox fan but I am an even bigger baseball fan and the Mid-Summer Classic is my favorite event to watch during the summer months. I want to see the best of the best compete and for Snell not to be selected is a major disappointment. The craziest thing about this situation is Snell isn’t even in the conversation for the final roster spot. HOW??????

Now Snell will most likely find his way onto the roster because with pitchers becoming ineligible to pitch In the Mid-Summer Classic he will most likely (I guess you never know) be selected to replace one of the pitchers on the roster. But for him, he has to be like “What the hell do I have to do?” Baseball made a mistake and they have to find a way to ensure that the best of the best are playing in the game and a player like Snell does not get snubbed from the game.

Leave a comment